English

I am trained as social scientist and historian, and have worked for many years as a researcher, policy advisor and program manager in the field of international human rights and social justice. Through fact-based research, publications and blogs, as well as presentations and social media I contribute to (policy) debates on topics such as the rule of law in Europe, counter-terrorism, and women’s rights. I also lead and moderate symposia, seminars and panel debates, in Dutch and English.

After finishing my Master degrees in History and Political Science at the University of Amsterdam, I embarked upon a PhD at the VU University. In 2011 I defended my PhD research on the framing and regulation of the Islamic veil in the Netherlands, France, and Germany. I was a visiting scholar at the London School of Economics and Political Sciences (LSE) (London), Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) (Paris), and the Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB) (Berlin), and an exchange student at Boğaziçi Üniversitesi (Istanbul).

After finishing my PhD, I’ve worked as an independent researcher and consultant for Human Rights Watch, the EU Fundamental Rights Agency (FRA), Art. 1 and the Scientific Research and Documentation Centre of the Dutch Ministry of Justice and Security (WODC), before joining Amnesty International (Dutch section). At Amnesty, I worked as a senior policy officer and advocate on a wide range of human rights issues in The Netherlands and the EU. These different work experiences resulted in various international policy reports, for instance on the rights of undocumented migrant women who have escaped domestic violence and on the detention conditions of individuals suspected and convicted of terrorism-related crimes.

Professionally, I continue to work on the protection and promotion of human rights worldwide. In addition, I moderate talks, interviews and debates in the fields of human rights, rule of law, gender and diversity, politics, and civil society. See my Linked-In profile for my CV.

Together with my partner I live in Amsterdam. I enjoy practicing yoga, traveling, scuba diving, and watching documentaries, series and films. I am also active as a board member and Fellow for different civil society organizations.